Finland In European Union

Finland is one of the five Nordic countries and the northernmost country in the European Union. The country is bordered by Sweden to the west, Norway to the north, and Russia to the east. The country’s most important sectors were public administration, defense, education, human health and social work activities, industry, and wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation, and food services. Their main export and import partners are Germany, Sweden, and Russia.

Finland is famous for several things including Aurora Borealis, Midnight sun, Finnish sauna, clean lakes, wild nature, ski resorts and routes, and of course, the Real Santa Claus. The Aurora Borealis is one of the remarkable features of Finland. The Northern Lights appear and lighten the sky during the dark winter. You will have greater chance of spotting the Aurora Borealis the further you go to the north. The midnight sun or white summer nights are the most iconic natural phenomena that happen in Finland. It is strongest during the months of June and July and can be observed in the northernmost parts of the country from May to August.



Finland complied with the European Union back in 1995. The country promotes the development of the European Union as a financial, political, and security organization. The main goal is to strengthen Finland’s security and prosperity. The country also uses euro as their official currency. Moreover, Finland is also a part to the Schengen Agreement that has eliminated border controls between Finland and other Schengen countries.

Finland’s positions on EU issues are handles by several departments. A coordination system has been established, which is responsible for the preparation and monitoring of affairs relating to the EU. The system involves the Cabinet Committee on European Union Affairs, the Committee for EU Affairs and its EU sub-committees. The Government EU Affairs Department serves as the secretariat for the Cabinet Committee on European Union Affairs and the Committee for EU Affairs. The Permanent Representation of Finland to the European Union in Brussels also participates in the preparation of EU affairs. Their main task is to ensure that Finland’s interests and policies are pursued as effectively as possible in the EU.

Understanding EU Citizenship

EU Citizenship

EU Citizenship

The European Union currently consists of 28 member states, where each country belongs to a collective, but still retains its unique identity and laws. It doesn’t necessarily mean that the European continent has fused into one country. Other non-EU countries like Norway, Switzerland, Iceland, and Liechtenstein are participating with them. There are four categories that typically classify citizens from all EU countries:

  1. Citizens that are born in the country;
  2. Repatriated citizens from abroad;
  3. EU citizens from another country;
  4. Non-EU citizens – means that nationality is unimportant

If you wanted to apply for qualifying for citizenship, you have to consult each country or member states because each has its own unique requirements. Some people make a blog about EU citizenship and share their experience. Some of them insert Google Maps with HTML in their website, to help people about their destinations or where they should go to inquire about EU citizenship. There isn’t a standard list of rules for the entire EU members.

  • Easiest EU citizenship: The ‘easiest’ way to claim EU citizenship and with the shortest amount of waiting time is through ancestral link, or if your ancestor was born in an EU country. You don’t need to have residency, speak the language, pay a fee, or even visit the country to grant them citizenship.
  • Another way to get EU citizenship: If you were not born in an EU country or don’t have any ancestor from EU, then you can reside legally in one of the EU countries for a number of years and go through naturalization.
  • Marrying a person with EU citizenship: The citizenship is not transferable. In some countries it may only shorten the waiting time for the application. Note that EU citizenship application involves a length of legal residency inside one of the EU countries, sometimes having a child, speaking the native language, and requiring through formal naturalization process.
  • Dual citizenship with EU: Any person can apply for dual citizenship as long as it does not violate the current rules of the first citizenship. The person should meet the requirements and apply with the EU country they prefer. There is no special application process, and there is no need to hire a lawyer, agency or other third party. Remember that you have to check first if both countries allow dual citizenship because some EU countries don’t.
  • Purchasing EU citizenship: Note that anyone who promises EU citizenship for a price is a scammer that conducts illegal activity. Anyone found purchasing fake citizenship papers will be charged with forgery and will serve jail time.

European Citizenship

Anyone who holds a nationality of an EU country is automatically also an EU citizen. However, it does not replace national citizenship but is an additional to it. Depending on the EU country of citizenship, they lay down the conditions for the acquisition and loss of nationality for that specific country. This legal concept of citizenship was formally introduced into the EC Treaty in 1993 by the Treaty of Maastricht, but is now addressed in Part II of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (Articles 20-24). In the Article 9 of the Treaty of European Union, citizenship was given a formal constitution status in the EU legal order. It states that “Every national of a Member State shall be a citizen of the Union. Citizenship of the Union shall be additional to and not replace national citizenship.”

european citizenship

european citizenship

European citizens are able to enjoy a bundle of legal rights by virtue of their status. The following rights apply to all EU citizens:

  • Move and reside freely within the EU;
  • Vote for and stand as a candidate in European Parliament and municipal elections;
  • Be protected by the diplomatic and consular authorities of any other EU country;
  • Petition the European Parliament and complain to the European Ombudsman.

Other rights for EU citizens include:

  • The right to contact and receive a response from any EU institution in one of the EU’s official languages;
  • The right to access European Parliament, European Commission and Council documents under certain conditions; and
  • The right of equal access to the EU Civil Service.

In addition, the Treaty also prohibits discrimination on the basis of nationality. With the Lisbon Treaty, it introduced a new form of public participation for European citizens, the Citizen’s initiative. This allows one million citizens who are nationals of a significant number of EU countries to call directly on the European Commission to bring forward an initiative of interest to them within the framework of its powers.